Around the World in 180 Days

A journey across the Atlantic and into matrimony

Victorian Whores and more November 3, 2009

Filed under: daily life — rhet @ 9:47 pm

Inspired by my new crafty friends and determined not to be the least convincing Victorian whore, I put more time and effort into my Halloween costume this year than I have in ages. We made plans to spend the evening with the boy’s former roommates who came up with a cunning plan to do something that catered to our nerdy tendencies but allowed us to keep it sexy. The boy would play the part of Jack the Ripper (he already had a top hat and waistcoat) and us three girls would be his victims.

Brilliant!

After kickstarting the night with home-made sangria, we couldnt help but get a little picture happy on our way out, staging scenes with one lifeless victim on a random stairway or gutter while the sillouette of Jack loomed in the shadows (the camera used wasn’t mine but once I have the photos I’ll definitlely post some). I love my new friends.

The rest of the evening didn’t pan out quite as well however. We had planned to dance and drink our prozzie hearts out at whichever venue seemed best for the job on Sauchiehall Street (the main ‘strip’ in Glasgow, to explain it in Las Vegas terms) but apparently hundreds, if not a few thousand people had that very same idea. Now, in all my conversations leading up to the 31st, I was told that Halloween wasn’t nearly as big in the UK  as in the States and was a relatively new addition to the calendar due entirely to seeing Americans dress up and trick-or-treat in movies and on tv.

So it was much to my surprise that every club on the street was packed to capacity and had lines of people trying to get in that wrapped around several blocks. After waiting in a couple lines without getting much of anywhere, we finally got into a place only to packed like sardines. Then waited at least 20 minutes to get our drinks which I’m convinced contained not a single drop of alcohol since 2 pitchers were drank between 3 of us in less time than it took to get the drinks. So much for trying to be being clever by ordering our drinks en masse to prevent waiting in line at the bar again!

In the end, we went back to the flat, drank wine, ate extremely tasty Asian food and played board games. Did I mention I love my friends?

 

Leave a Reply

