Around the World in 180 Days

A journey across the Atlantic and into matrimony

Familiar Faces February 27, 2010

Filed under: daily life — rhet @ 7:29 pm

No matter how far away I move, I always seem to find strangers that look exactly like someone I know from home. Sometimes when I get a  closer look, they turn out to look nothing like the person I thought they did, but sometimes I could swear they were twins! Maybe its my mind looking for familiarity in a crowd of strangers or maybe people just don’t look that different.  It seems that at least once while I’m out in town my heart will skip a beat thinking I’ve seen my Dad, a friend I used to work with, a cousin, etc.

Any other expats (or even someone with nomadic tendencies) found this? No? Just me?

 

2 Responses to “Familiar Faces”

  1. DaviMack Says:

    Yes! I think it’s probably just your subconscious, looking for friends, though. Unless your friends / relatives are from here. 🙂

  2. Ryan Says:

    I often think I see people from home walking down Buchanan Street and I’ve been here almost 6 years!


Leave a Reply

