Around the World in 180 Days

A journey across the Atlantic and into matrimony

Summer Highlights October 1, 2010

Filed under: daily life,food,travel — rhet @ 2:30 pm

I know it’s been a while folks, I kind of lost my zeal as is wont to happen to us mercurial Geminis, but as my 1 year anniversary of being in the UK approaches, I thought I’d pop back in and update!

I’ve definitely feel like I’m becoming more British over the last few months. I went from really hating Indian food and completely baffled by the Brit’s love affair with it to being able to enjoy a good curry every now and then! I absolutely love a few Hobnobs with a cup of tea on a rainy day, lemon curd on toast and a steamy steak and ale pie.

turquois!

It’s not all about the food though, I’ve also acquired a sexy pair of Hunter wellies since Glasgow’s last winter destroyed a total of 3 pairs of shoes not including all the feet soakings I got. Not this year! As of next week I’ll be working at Greggs and am praying I’ve gotten the accent down and can make change with those funny little coins fast enough!

Despite my best efforts at Britishization and to the disappointment of my friends and family, when I came home to visit over the summer, I had no noticeable accent myself. Ah well, maybe next year!

We had a great time in the States though, getting the most out of the trip by spending the first week of our trip in NYC with the hubby’s family and the last 2 weeks at my parents house in Pennsylvania. It worked out really well because in NYC we were all go go go, visiting as many museums, art galleries, cocktail bars and restaraunts as we physically could and when we got to PA, we got to lounge by the pool, do some reading and just generally visit and hang out! Glorious.

my parents pool, or paradise as I call it

wii bowling outside on the deck!

We also had a wedding reception for all my friends and family who couldn’t make it to our ‘real’ wedding in Glasgow. I wore my dress and all the accoutrements and T dressed up all schnazzy (wearing his full suit would have killed him in the July heat so a nice linen outfit was chosen instead). I knew I too would die if I kept my dress on the whole day so a couple days before the party I suggested that when we’d both had enough of the heat, we’d jump into the pool with our clothes on which would be 1. AWESOME and 2. give us an excuse to go change. T was skeptical of this idea. But when it came time for us to cut the cake during the party,  T bravely smashed a huge slice allllll over my face. And so to get him back I decide we would indeed be jumping into the pool. What a blast that was! I wish we had a picture of us holding hands, jumping in together but it was pretty spontaneous so no one really had their cameras ready in time. I’ll certainly remember that moment forever though!

I’m so glad I got to spend so much time with my family! Spending 3 weeks in the US during the height of summer also made it easier to deal with Glasgow’s almost complete lack of summer. Now it’s starting to get dark early again, but at least I can look back at my sunny pics with my family and look forward to dry feet with my wellies!

 

3 Responses to “Summer Highlights”

  1. Glad you’re still around! Sounds like you’re settling in quite well – and don’t worry about the accent: mine’s drifted some, having been here for 3 years, but I’m most often mistaken for being Canadian rather than Californian.

    After our first trip back – to California, in July, with temperatures of 115F / 47C – we vowed that we’d be visiting in the depths of Winter. It works out much better. 🙂

  2. Hanta Says:

    More British? Pfft more Scottish you mean?

    Good luck working in Greggs. I’m sure the locals will be more interested in you because of your American accent so you should be proud of it. I hear you on the Glasgow summer… I don’t miss (the lack of) it at all.

  3. (Also: when I told somebody here that we were going out to Indian food, he came back with, “you mean, you’re going to have some West of Scotland Food?” I don’t think I’ve actually had a proper Indian meal the entire time we’ve been here.)


Leave a Reply

